March is Not SPRING Spring

We had the WORST winter – tons of snow-very rare for Mt Desert Island. We had about 30 incheson the ground and icey paths everywhere. Then in two rain sotrms and a couple of high wind storms it all just disappeared – came up to 60 one day and we thoguth it was Spring.No such luck – it snowed yesterday – just a couple of inches, but it’s NOT spring.  However, I wrote a poem a few years ago that I’ll post now.

Invisible Spring

 

 

 

Spring slipped past the weary watchers –

Unnoticed.

Wrapped within that gray March fog;

Intruded.

Formless, silent, ghostly

Secretive.

Hiding in dreary damp skies,

Rotting snows, sticky muds.

Baring ugly scars of winter: brown grass, broken branches;

Pervasive.

Spring slipped in that day and planted well its pregnant seed

Of  hope. .

 

Marian Burns   1988

So I do have HOPE>  Marian

3 Responses to “March is Not SPRING Spring”

  1. Irene Sampson Says:

    Hi Marian,
    What a spring. My seeds and plants languished in the sunless cold and damp, but now are perking up.
    This is a voice from the past.
    I used to come up to your inn with Judy for opening/closing of the season. Since then retired from LLBean, lost touch with Judy, downsized to smaller house in Barrington, sold my house to my oldest who is turning the front yard into an ‘arboretum’/garden, had a couple hospitalizations with consequent follow-ups, etc.
    Cant’ complain now, doing better but oh so slow and easily tired.
    I have a couple of people going to the craft fair this weekend. Laurie is the vendor selling sweats with her ‘bling’ art, and Grace is the one who does the alterations for Laurie and now is helping at the fairs also. I reminisced with Grace about my times in Bar Harbor, which brought me to your site to reconnect. Perhaps Laurie and Grace will look you up.
    Irene

    • mb1681 Says:

      Irene – How nice to hear from you. I’m still going strong here at Mira Monte – my 31st year. We had a big celebration here in Bar Harbor yesterday and I was GRAND Marshall for the parade. This is a result of my receiving the highest award theChmaber of Commerce gives out for local businesses – the Cadillac Award – last October. So I got to ride in an open vehicle and wave to hundreds of onlookers. It was quite an experience and I;m not down to earth yet. I have been well, (went up a mountain yesterday afternoon – bushwacking with my daughter and other family members – there are no trails up this particular mountain) I’d be glad to have your friends stop by. The gardens are now beautiful – and in need of watering – all of the scattered showers have scaterd elswhere – as is common here on the Island. Judy is now in Maine at her house in (I think Raymond) overlooking Little Sebago Lake. Her cell phone is 301 697 3971. She’l be coming up here to visit in mid-July. Good to hear from you – Marian

  2. irene sampson Says:

    Hi Marian,
    What a spring. My seeds and plants languished in the sunless cold and damp, but now are perking up.
    This is a voice from the past.
    I used to come up to your inn with Judy for opening/closing of the season. Since then retired from LLBean, lost touch with Judy, downsized to smaller house in Barrington, sold my house to my oldest who is turning the front yard into an ‘arboretum’/garden, had a couple hospitalizations with consequent follow-ups, etc.
    Cant’ complain now, doing better but oh so slow and easily tired.
    I have a couple of people going to the craft fair this weekend. Laurie is the vendor selling sweats with her ‘bling’ art, and Grace is the one who does the alterations for Laurie and now is helping at the fairs also. I reminisced with Grace about my times in Bar Harbor, which brought me to your site to reconnect. Perhaps Laurie and Grace will look you up.
    Irene

Leave a Reply

